top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Natalie

Facebook Live 101

For my Facebook Live I knew the obvious thing to broadcast; my friend Kevin's music set at the Plymouth Coffee Bean. The Plymouth Coffee Bean is one of my favorite places and I've been there so many times as a performer and an audience member. My friend Kevin is super talented and I knew I wanted to capture it.


The actual broadcast was not very good at all. Even though I tried Facebook Live at my house to try it out I didn't know what I was doing. First off, I left my stabilizer at my dorm and I was home for Thanksgiving and couldn't get it. So I used a DIY coffee cup stabilizer made on the spot which worked ok. Another thing is I did it all in vertical and maybe it should have been horizontal. Another thing was at the beginning I talked about how I was at my favorite places the Plymouth Coffee Bean and I was excited to hear my friend Kevin play. But that got cut off because I didn't record it in time.


The biggest issue though was the wifi. I got a new phone so I didn't sign into the Xfinity hotspot and set that up like my old phone. When I first started recording I wasn't even using wi-fi at all and then it cut off. Then when I tried to get wifi I couldn't do Xfinity because I wasn't signed in and didn't remember the password, so I had to use the slow coffee shop network. Fast wi fi is important for Facebook live.


The craziest thing is my friend Alex who was sitting next to me saw me broadcasting and started to broadcast as well. Her Facebook live as better less shaky, didn't cut out and all-around better of the same performance. I went back and watched it the next day.


Nevertheless, Facebook live is a growing and popular way of gaining viewers. Maybe I'd have someone Livestream my poetry at some point. But I did not particularly enjoy using it myself and I don't know how much I'll be using it in the future.



Recent Posts

See All

Steller Stories

I went to a concert and I did the work and took the pictures. I just never put them up on the steller. I even got different angles walked to the other side of the room and tried to get as close as I

bottom of page